In this guide, we highlight the particularities of the Zoom conference platform which may impact how the Meetgeek bot joins and records your Zoom meetings.

  1. Related articles

  2. Link Validation

  3. Troubleshooting

Defaults

By default, Meetgeek joins all your scheduled Zoom calls found in your calendar. In addition to the meetings you host, Meetgeek also automatically joins meetings where you are not the host. Please note that, in many cases, the bot still needs to be admitted into the call by the host of the Zoom meeting.

Note: Meetgeek does not automatically join instant Zoom meetings which are not present in the connected Calendar anymore. The Zoom native integration will probably be available again soon. To record an instant Zoom meeting with Meetgeek now, copy the join link and paste it into the form on the Upcoming meetings page.

Note: If you want to disable Meetgeek for all your Zoom calls, uncheck the Zoom checkbox from the Settings page.

Related articles

applicable to all conference tools

  1. Options for joining meetings

  2. Controlling Meetgeek during the call

Zoom link validation

In order to be recognized by Meetgeek, the provided join link must have one of the following forms:

  • *zoom.us/j/*

  • *zoom.us/my/*

Note: We don't offer support for Zoom webinars: *zoom.us/w/*

Note: Zoom start link is not considered valid: *zoom.us/s/*

The zoom link must be present in the location, description, or agenda fields of the calendar event (or contained in the email body or text pasted in the ad-hoc form on the Upcoming page).

Note: if a Calendar event contains multiple join links, there is no way in which Meetgeek can detect which is the correct one. Make sure, the event contains only one valid Zoom join link.

Additionally, the extracted Zoom room id and passcode are validated with the Zoom portal. More information about the Zoom room ids and expiry rules can be found here.



Joining the Zoom call

The Meetgeek bot joins Zoom calls as a participant at the scheduled start time. It's not necessary for you to also join the meeting in order for the bot to record it. The bot joins the meeting independently of you. By default, the bot is named after you.

Note: The keywords "Meetgeek Bot" are required in order for the bots to tell apart the real persons vs. bots and correctly detect the end of the meeting. On the Business plan, the name can be customized from the Settings page.

Recording the Zoom call

The Meetgeek bot will wait a maximum of 30 minutes for at least one non-bot participant to join the Zoom meeting before starting recording.

Once the recording is started, the bot will send a recording disclaimer on the chat. This is an indication that the recording started successfully. On the Business plan, the recording notification message can be customized from the Settings page. It has a fixed beginning and customizable content afterward.

Analyzing the Zoom call

The meeting analysis starts after the meeting ends or the bot is removed. During the analysis, the meeting is listed with analyzing flag on the Past meetings page.

Note: Sometimes, the bot may fail to detect that the meeting has ended if in the Zoom call there were other "bot" attendees which were recognized by the Meetgeek bot as real participants. If this happens, the Pause button from the Upcoming page will force the bot to leave the call and start the analysis.

Troubleshooting - Zoom setting

The following settings can be modified from the Zoom portal - Meeting tab - Security Section:

If you're not the admin of your Zoom account, you may not be able to modify (or see) some of the settings, depending on whether they are (b)locked by the admin of your Zoom account. If the settings are not listed among the profile settings, ask your Zoom admin to unlock the option for you.

End-to-end (E2EE) encryption for meetings (Blocker)

The bot joins the Zoom calls from the web client. If End-to-end (E2EE) encryption for meetings is enabled, the bot will not be able to join as E2EE requires all meeting participants to join from the Zoom desktop client, mobile app, or Zoom Rooms.

Join from your browser (Blocker)

The bot joins the Zoom calls from the web client. If Join from your browser is disabled, the bot will not be able to join.

Zoom security options

By default, Zoom requires meetings to have at least one security option enabled.

Waiting Room (Optional)

If the Waiting Room is enabled, the bot will be placed in the waiting room once the meeting starts. It will wait 30 minutes to be admitted by the host into the meeting. If the bot is not admitted after 30 minutes, it leaves the waiting room. If the bot is removed from the waiting room while waiting, it will not retry to join, unless instructed so by the control buttons. This may cause a small delay on join time.

Allow participants to join before start (Optional)

If Allow participants to join before host is disabled, the bot will wait 30 minutes for the meeting to start. If the host does not start the Zoom meeting after 30 minutes, the bot will give up. If disabled, it may cause a small delay on join time.

Passcode (Optional / Blocker)

If the Meeting Passcode is enabled, then the Embed passcode in invite link for one-click join must also be enabled. If the latter is disabled, attendees will have to manually enter the meeting’s passcode. If the meeting passcode is enabled and embedding is disabled, the bot will not be able to join the Zoom call.

Authentication (Optional)

By default, the bot joins your Zoom calls unauthenticated. There are 2 settings for controlling if authentication is required for a participant who joins a Zoom meeting: Only authenticated meeting participants and webinar attendees can join meetings and webinars and Only authenticated users can join meetings from Web client. If one of them is enabled (see here and here), the bot will authenticate when prompted to log in. This may cause a small delay on join time.

Allow removed participants to rejoin (Optional / Blocker)

Note: If authentication is required and the bot is removed from the Zoom meeting by the host (not via the control buttons from the Upcoming page), by default, it will not be able to rejoin the session using the same email address, but will be able to rejoin a future session. You can enable the Allow removed participants to rejoin option in order for the bot to be able to rejoin the same Zoom session authenticated.

In-meeting security options (Optional / Blocker)

There are a couple of ways in Zoom in which the host can block access to other participants during the live meeting.

Note: If the meeting is locked before the bot is admitted to the meeting, the bot will not be able to join.

Note: If the waiting room is enabled after the bot was admitted in the waiting room (or the bot is placed in the waiting room after it was admitted), the bot will stop recording and leave the meeting.

Did this answer your question?